Can I Still Sue For Injuries From An Auto Accident If I Didn’t Get Transported In An Ambulance?

Even seemingly minor car accidents can lead to severe injuries. If you’ve been in an auto accident, seeking medical attention is crucial, even if you don’t opt for ambulance transport. Despite not being transported via ambulance, you still retain the right to pursue legal action for your injuries. It’s easier to document injuries if you leave the scene of your car accident in an ambulance because it means you received prompt treatment for them. Proving your injuries through medical records is critical to recovering compensation for your damages.

If you sustained injuries in an accident in Colorado, contact the Denver car accident attorneys at Front Range Injury Attorneys today to schedule your free consultation. Our experienced legal team are knowledgeable and zealous advocates for our clients and their cases. We treat our clients as people, not case files. Learn more about how we can help you pursue compensation for your injuries and damages. Contact our Denver law firm to learn more.

Assessing the Necessity of Ambulance Transportation

In the aftermath of a car crash, the decision to take an ambulance ride depends on various factors. While visible injuries often warrant immediate ambulance transport, other injuries, such as soft tissue damage, may not be immediately apparent but still require medical evaluation. Typically an ambulance and EMTs arrive on the scene of a car accident after calling 911 if there is concern anybody may be injured. You should always allow EMTs to check you before leaving the scene of a crash, regardless of your decision to leave with them to go to the hospital. You should rely upon their evaluation to determine if you need ambulance transportation.

Certain symptoms indicate the necessity of ambulance transport, including:

  • Dizziness or Confusion
  • Blurred Vision
  • Deep Cuts or Uncontrollable Bleeding
  • Loss of Consciousness Followed by Awakening
  • Suspected Neck or Head Injuries

Who covers ambulance ride bills?

In Colorado, an at-fault state, the responsible party and their insurance typically covers ambulance expenses. However, understanding your insurance coverage and legal rights is essential to ensure fair compensation. Colorado is an at-fault state which means the insurance company for the liable party will only pay for your damages when you settle with them or if a jury awards you a favorable verdict. Unlike no-fault coverage states, the insurance company does not pay medical bills as you accrue them.

Colorado auto insurance laws require drivers to carry minimum coverage including:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 total per accident for bodily injury
  • $15,000 total for property damage

Drivers may increase policy limits beyond the state minimum.

Typically ambulance bills are among the economic damages you can recover after an accident but the insurance company may deny your claim and you’ll need to file a lawsuit to pursue justice for your injuries. Ambulance companies often attempt to submit their bills to insurance companies to get paid but if the insurance company for the negligent driver denies the claim, the bill will remain outstanding.

As the injury victim, you may have other options to pay the bill up front. Your health insurance may pay the bill and pursue repayment from your personal injury claim. You may have medpay on your auto insurance policy, which pays medical bills after an accident as you accrue them. If the negligent driver does not have insurance, your uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage may pay the bill. Your car accident attorney will evaluate your coverage options to help pay ambulance and other medical bills.

When should you file a claim for a car accident?

Promptly filing a claim against the negligent party is crucial. Collecting necessary information, such as the other driver’s details and insurance information, or obtaining a police report if unable to collect information, lays the foundation for a successful claim. Generally, the sooner you file a claim for a car accident, the less likely the insurance company can argue that your injuries were not related to the accident. Your accident claim may take months or even years to resolve, but you should initiate the process and contact a personal injury lawyer as soon as possible.

Addressing Delayed Medical Treatment

Delaying medical treatment can weaken your claim’s strength. Seeking immediate medical attention not only ensures your well-being but also strengthens the link between your injuries and the accident, bolstering your case. Sometimes people do not pursue medical evaluation and treatment right away. That does not mean you cannot recover for your injuries and damages; however, the longer you wait the more likely the insurance company will argue something happened in between the accident and your first date of treatment that caused your injuries. That may lead to worse settlement offers and greater likelihood your case will need to go to court to get fair compensation.

As part of a negligence claim, you and your attorney must prove the accident caused your injuries. Seeking medical care the same day as the accident is not required under Colorado law to prove causation but the longer you wait the harder and more expensive it may be to prove that element. A negligence claim requires you to prove all four elements:

  • Duty
  • Breach of duty
  • Causation
  • Damages

Insurance companies often attack causation to disprove their insured is liable for the injuries and related damages you claim. The insurance adjuster may refuse to pay on your claim due to a gap in treatment, forcing you to file a lawsuit to pursue your case. In litigation, the insurance company may hire medical experts to give testimony in court that the accident did not cause your injuries and that there is another undisclosed reason that better explains your injury. The longer you wait to seek evaluation, the easier it will be for them to make a convincing argument.

Recognizing Delayed Injuries

Injuries from car accidents may not always manifest immediately. Conditions like concussions, soft tissue injuries, and internal trauma might become apparent days after the accident. Adrenaline and shock after your accident may cause you not to realize symptoms of injury until hours or days later. Seeking medical evaluation promptly is vital for your health and potential legal claim. If you do not take an ambulance to the hospital right away, you should seek medical evaluation immediately on your own.

Understanding Statute of Limitations

Colorado imposes a statute of limitations on personal injury claims, typically ranging from two to three years from the date of injury. Adhering to these timeframes is crucial for preserving your legal rights. The typical statute of limitations for a personal injury claim in Colorado is two years. For car accidents, it is generally three years. Keep in mind that some claims have much shorter legal deadlines so it is vital that you contact an accident attorney as soon as possible after a crash to ensure you protect your right to pursue compensation.

Seeking Maximum Compensation

While auto insurance claims may cover some expenses, consulting with a skilled car injury attorney can help negotiate a fair settlement or take your case to court, if necessary. Economic and non-economic damages, including medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering, may be recoverable through a personal injury lawsuit if you cannot reach a fair settlement.

Economic damages include financial harm sustained after an accident. This may include:

  • Past and future medical expenses
  • Lost wages
  • Lost earning capacity
  • Property damage
  • Out of pocket expenses

Non-economic damages are harm caused by the collision but are not financial losses you experience, such as:

  • Pain and suffering
  • Emotional trauma
  • Disfigurement or scarring
  • Loss of enjoyment of life

In some cases you may also pursue punitive damages. These are damages awarded to punish the defendant for extreme recklessness beyond typical car accident negligence. Your lawyer will evaluate your case to determine the type and amount of damages you should pursue as a result of your injuries.

Secure Your Right to Compensation with Front Range Injury Attorneys

Don’t let insurance companies shortchange your recovery. Front Range Injury Attorneys are committed to advocating for your rights and securing the compensation you deserve. Contact us today to ensure your journey to justice after a car accident. Our experienced car accident attorneys understand insurance company tricks and how to combat them to get clients the compensation they deserve.

Colorado Car Accident Lawyers

If you suffered injuries in an auto accident caused by someone else’s negligence, you may be entitled to compensation for your injuries, medical bills, lost wages and other damages. Our experienced Colorado car accident lawyers help clients across the state pursue full and fair compensation for their accident-related injuries and financial losses. We help clients in Colorado with a wide range of motor vehicle collisions involving different types of vehicles, crashes and severity of impacts. Contact our law firm to discuss:

Although most of our motor vehicle collision clients hail from Denver, we also help clients in other parts of Colorado, including:

No matter the type of auto accident or location in Colorado, our law firm is ready to talk to you about your case. Front Range Injury Attorneys offers free consultations for car crash cases so you can speak with our experienced personal injury lawyers at no cost and no obligation.

Accessibility Toolbar